Mind Your Feet

“It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t mind your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

There’s a picture that used to hang in the entryway of my sacramento home; it was actually a magazine page, ripped out of a catalog from Abercrombie and Fitch. Odder still, it was a photo of two sets of feet (albeit very attractive feet). Those two bodiless models, the bottoms of their kakis nonchalantly cuffed against the backdrop of beautifully toned beach rocks, stood calmly in their frame in our hallway for years.

The picture is really only notable for it’s nice colour scheme, but it also fits in with an odd collection of feet pictures that I seem to have inadvertently compiled in my life.

Maybe it’s that “dangerous business” of travelling (as J.R.R. Tolkien put it) that accounts for my pedi-photography. Often I travel on my own, so the only bit of me that I can easily capture in pictures is my feet on the ground. As I wander foreign countries and new places, I often look like most tourists, gazing wide-eyed up and around me. If you take a minute though, to look down, there’s a whole different story there. In every yoga class we take time to ground down through our feet before any movement, but often in everyday life we forget about this important foundation unless our stilettos are torturing us. Oddly enough, I don’t really like feet; they’re like funny hands, and so far away down there. Nevertheless, here’s quite a collection of foot self-portraits from my travels. Can you tell where I am? What the day was like? From my feet?

 

Leave a Reply

