Just for Fun

Welcome to my new blog site! And thanks for following me over here.

Just for fun, here are some things that have interested me lately, maybe you’d like to take a look at a few:

 

“Maybe nothing ever happens once and is finished. Maybe happen is never once but like ripples maybe on water after the pebble sinks, the ripples moving on, spreading, the pool attached by a narrow umbilical water-cord to the next pool…” ~ William Faulkner, Absalom, Absalom!

Absalom, Absalom was my reading for the long trip to London about a month ago, and I absolutely fell in love with it! Reading Faulkner, if you don’t already know, is like reading a different language. It takes you a while to understand Faulknerian (if you ever really can), but once you get into it, he’ll take you into a whole different world. It’s a complex, dark world, focused on the post civil-war South but extending way beyond that into tradition and the human psyche. If you’re looking for a book recommendation, this would be mine (if you are willing to tackle it).


A little bit about The Heretic, an amazing play I went to see a few weeks ago at the Royal Court Theatre in London: It challenges accepted ideas about global warming and modern environmentalism, making you think, even if you don’t agree with the main characters denial of climate change. But most importantly for me, it really focused on the importance of humanity–our personal connections to one another. Even though the characters, like everyone, are flawed and confusing, there were amazing moments when they were able to overcome all the chaos and problems to connect with one another. As cliche as it is: I laughed, I cried, I loved it.


My new friends from Villa Azul here on the island will be finishing their 9 month tour around the globe on April 10th. They started out in Greenwich with a small crew, huge firetruck, and plan to circumnavigate the globe to raise funds for charities. On the 10th they’re ending right back where they started at the Royal Naval Academy. Also one of their most recent blog posts was about their stay here, and it has some neat pictures too. Follow that Fire Engine


Julian Bialowas’ Flikr Photostream is a really neat gallery of artsy photography combined with famous quotes.

For anyone who likes Lil Wayne and/or the movie 500 Days of Summer, there is an album that combines the movie soundtrack with Weezy’s songs: 500 Days of Weezy. It isn’t a work of musical genius by any means, but it’s neat to listen to the interesting mix of the great, happy-go-lucky film soundtrack with some harsh rap and eminem. Much better, in my opinion, is Adele’s new album 21 (← check out this video). I absolutely love her soulful voice, so I was really excited when she released this second album (her first, 19, is wonderful. And I can’t believe she was only 19 when she made it! It’s that kind of thing that makes me wonder: what on earth am I doing with my life)


Speaking of that, Bryan told me about this mind-blowing yoga teacher, Kathryn Budig, who does insane things like go into handstand from crow pose. If you don’t know what that means, just take a look at this! Maybe gravity doesn’t apply to her.


We have this wonderful Pukka teas here at Villa Azul. They’re scrumptious 🙂


So…far from the crazy bustle and busy days of London, I thought I’d just share some random interesting things that I’ve stumbled upon recently. This is what I actually have time to do now, with free afternoons and no homework and only a minor sunburn to distract me. It turns out that we’re really close to the equator here, something I learned quite quickly since my pale Londoner skin burnt to a crisp pink in a matter of minutes and left me with some interesting tan lines.

Leave a Reply

