Waterloo…

…who knew it was so close to my family’s home in Belgium!


After watching an educational video that comes with your ticket to the monument there, I know much more about Napoleon’s precise military techniques than I will ever need to.

 

 

226 precarious steps up the “Monument du Lion” brought us to a gorgeous view. It’s foggy here in Belgium, but instead of being dreary it gives the place a really magical feel. The sunlight seems to turn solid in the forest when it falls through the branches, and on top of the monument I felt like I was looking at some sort of ethereal painting (from a very windy and cold point of view).

 

 

I’m safely settled now with at my Uncle Hermann’s house just outside of Brussels, where I get to hear a lot of different languages (French, Dutch, English, and German are all common around this area) and enjoy family time.

 

 

p.s. Europe is making me want a little Peugeot car.

 

Leave a Reply

